Inter-Services cross-country championship at Wellington

By S Vishnu Sharmaa Published on Jul 17, 2018 04:21 PM IST

Winners of the cross-country run receiving the prize from the Commandant of The Madras Regimental Centre at Wellington yesterday.

Chennai: Sepoy Anil Kumar Yadav of Army Red team was the winner by completing 31.44 minutes the 49th Inter-Services Cross-Country Championship (2018-19) held yesterday at Thangaraj Stadium at Madras Regimental Centre, in Wellington.

Havildar Anish Thapa Magar, Naik Tirtha Kumar Pun of Army Red team followed with 31.47 minutes and 31.53 minutes to claim individual medals.

Overall championship trophy was bagged Army Red team, with Army Green team, Indian Navy team at second and third position.

Four teams participated in the championship, comprising six runners from each team. The 10 km cross-country run began at Thangaraj Stadium and passed through the ups and downs of Wellington cantonment and culminated at Thangaraj Stadium. Commandant of The Madras Regimental Centre gave away the prizes to the winners.