Cauvery: TN acts swiftly, names members for CWMA, CWRC

By NT Bureau Published on Jun 03, 2018 01:32 PM IST

Chennai: It seems things are going on the right track as far as Cauvery issue is concerned in the State.

A day after the notification of Cauvery scheme was approved by the Supreme Court to implement the final award of the Cauvery Water Disputes Tribunal, Tamilnadu government named its members of Cauvery Water Management Authority (CWMA) and Cauvery Water Regulation Committee (CWRC).

State Chief Secretary Girija Vaidyanathan in a communication to Union Water Resources Ministry Secretary U P Singh named Tamilnadu PWD Secretary S K Prabhakar as a part-time member of the CWMA and Chief Engineer, Water Resources Department, Tiruchi, R Senthil Kumar as member of CWRC.

Welcoming the constitution of a CWMA by the Centre, the Tamilnadu government on Friday hailed it as a 'grand victory' for the "Amma (Jayalalithaa) government" and the State's farmers.

Chief Minister K Palaniswami expressed joy and recalled the various efforts of the ruling AIADMK on the Cauvery dispute, including the late party supremo J Jayalalithaa going on a fast in the 1990s on the issue.

The CWMA had been set up following the AIADMK government's

sustained efforts and legal battles, he added.

Acting on the Supreme Court's direction, the Centre has constituted the CWMA to address the dispute over sharing of river water among

Tamilnadu, Karnataka, Kerala and Puducherry and issued a gazette notification.

On 16 February, the apex court had directed the government to form the CWMA within six weeks in a verdict that marginally increased Karnataka's share of Cauvery water, reduced the allocation for Tamilnadu and sought to settle the protracted water dispute between the two southern States.

In the gazette notification, the Ministry of Water Resources said it has framed a scheme constituting the CWMA and the CWRC to give effect to the decision of the Cauvery Water Disputes Tribunal as modified by the Supreme Court order.