TNPL 3 to kickstart 11 July

By NT Bureau Published on Jun 16, 2018 03:39 PM IST

Chennai: The third edition of the Tamilnadu Premier League (TNPL) will get underway on 11 July at ICL Grounds, Tirunelveli with the match between Dindigul Dragons and Ruby Trichy Warriors.

Defending TNPL champions Chepauk Super Gillies will begin their campaign against Ruby Trichy Warriors at the M.A Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on 14 July.

This year Tirunelvi and NPRCET Grounds in Dindigul will be hosting 14 matches each while only four matches will take place in Chennai including the final on 12 August.

"It was decided to have a majority of the matches in Tirunelveli and Dindigul so as to provide more exposure to the next generation of players from the districts to high-quality cricket live," TNCA joint secretary RI Palani said.

All night matches are scheduled to start at 7.15 pm while on Sundays two matches will take place with the first one scheduled to start at 3.15 pm during the league phase. All matches will be telecast live on Star Sports Tamil and Star Sports 1.

Eight teams participate in the tournament with the winners of TNPL-3 will take home a prize money of Rs 1 crore while the runners-up will bag Rs 60 lakh and the third and fourth-placed teams will gain by Rs 40 lakh each.