National rally: Gritty show by Gill

By NT Bureau Published on Apr 30, 2018 03:08 PM IST

Chennai: Defending champion Gaurav Gill captured the opening round of the MRF FMSCI Indian National Rally Championship 2018, winning the MRF South India Rally in style at Sriperumbudur.

He was once again at his aggressive best as he conquered all five stages of Day 2 to convert his first day’s advantage into a comfortable victory.

The Team Mahindra Adventure driver, along with Musa Sherif as co-driver, bettered his own previous day’s performance by 27 seconds for an aggregate timing of 1 hour and 28:43.1 minutes to complete the total distance.