Muthaiah & Ashwath emerge winners

By NT Bureau Published on Jun 05, 2018 01:54 PM IST

Chennai: AI Muthaiah of Tiruvallur and R Ashwath of Chennai emerged champions in the 22nd State Open Rapid and 20th State Chess Blitz Championships.

Ram S Krishnan and AR Harikrishnan finished second in the events, respectively. It was organised jointly by TVS Polytechnic College and Tiruvallur District Chess Association.

A total of 291 players participated in Open Rapid and 245 in Blitz. The top two will represent Tamilnadu State in the forthcoming nationals.