Future stars shine bright in cricket tourney

By NT Bureau Published on Jun 02, 2018 05:05 PM IST

Chennai: Future Stars CA and Unique CA won titles in U-15 and U-13 categories of the Gen-Next Royal Rumble cricket tournament at RKM grounds. Kanishka Arvind's unbeaten 51 and a handy 45 not out by SR Thirunarayanan helped Unique CA beat Adambakkam CA by nine wickets.


U-15 final: Elite CA 89 in 18.3 ovs (Chirag Sridhar 4/17, Aravind Krishnan 3/22) lost to Future Stars CA 90/1 in 17.1 ovs (SR Athish 43). Semifinals: Elite CA 146/5 in 20 ovs (Rohan 55, Anirudh 52) bt Chennai CA 121/7 in 20 ovs. MoM: Rohan.

Future Stars CA 135/9 in 20 ovs (Veera Vishwa 53; Trilok 3/14) bt Gen-Next CA 120/8 in 20 ovs (Aravind 3/27). MoM: Aravind.

Best batsman: Md Ishaaq; Best bowler: Kamal Raj; Best fielder: SM Raagul; Best wicketkeeper: Anirudh; Player of the series: SR Athish; Man of the final: Chirag Sridhar.

U-13 final: Adambakkam CA 105/7 in 20 ovs (Prajesh Rajan 4/17) lost to Unique CA 106/1 in 12.4 ovs (Kanishka Arvind 51 n.o., SR Thirunarayanan 45 n.o.). Semifinals: Adambakkam CA 139/5 in 20 ovs (Seshadhri 3/20) bt AVM CA 134/5 in 20 ovs (Seshadhri 63). MoM: Seshadri. Asiatic Transformers 113/7 in 20 ovs (Abhinayan 45; Prajesh Rajan 3/15) lost to Unique CA 114/3 in 16.5 ovs (Kanishka Arvind 42). MoM: Prajesh Ranjan.

Best batsman: Abhinayan; Best bowler: Prajesh Rajan; Best fielder: Prasidh Ram; Best wicketkeeper: Tamizhselvan; Player of the final: Prajesh Ranjan; Player of the series: Seshadhri.