DCA Trophy: Venkatesh stars in Samsung India win

By NT Bureau Published on Jun 04, 2018 03:43 PM IST

Chennai: Samsung India defeated Apollo Tyres by 14 runs in the 14th Lucas TVS Thiruvallur DCA Trophy. Set to chase 202 in 30 overs, Apollo Tyres managed to score 187 for six. C Kubendran's enterprising knock of 95 went in vain.

For the winning team, N Venkatesh remained unbeaten on 92 that included seven fours and an equal number of sixes.

Scores of 14th Lucas TVS Thiruvallur DCA Trophy: Group A: Wheels India 167/6 in 30 overs (Karampal Jangra 53, R. Senthil 64) bt Ashok Leyland Ennore 73 in 15.5 overs (R. Prashanth 4/34, D. Alexander Davidraj 4/23).

Group B: Samsung India 201 for 7 in 30 overs (N. Venkatesh 92*, G. Ganesh Moorthy 39, K. Vasanth Kumar 26, K. Mathan 3/42) bt Apollo Tyres 187/6 in 30 overs (C. Kubendran 95, B. Pranesh 32).

MAS CC recorded a 10-run win over Classic CC in the quarter-finals of the ninth Gopu Memorial T20 knock-out tournament. VG Deena Dayalan took three wickets for 33 runs to restrict Classic CC.

9th Gopu Memorial T20 Knockout Tournament: 2nd Round: Universal CC 87 in 20 overs lost to Fine Star CA 88/3 in 8.1 overs (S. Karthik 33, Akash Sumra 31*). QF: Standard CC 156/5 in 20 overs (R. Nandagopal 34, S. Sudan Sanjeevi Kandepan 45) bt Ebenezer Marcus CA 89 in 19.3 overs (S. Mohanraj 3/22); MAS CC 158/7 in 20 overs (R. Nilesh Subramanian 67, G. Vignesh 37) bt Classic CC 148 in 20 overs (A. Kumaravel 34, G. Naveen Kumar 48, V.G. Deena Dayalan 3/33); Parthasarathy MCC 131/3 in 20 overs (R. Ram Arvindh 65*, A. Jerome 32) bt Seshadri MCC 128/9 in 20 overs (K. Surendar 34, M. Dinesh Veda Guru 28, N. Harrish 3/17.