No-confidence motion against NDA govt defeated in LS

By NT Bureau Published on Jul 20, 2018 11:35 PM IST

New Delhi: The no-confidence motion against the NDA government in the Lok Sabha on 20 July 2018, was defeated, with the ruling NDA having a clear majority in the House.

The motion, moved by the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) secured 126 votes, while 325 members backed the government of Prime Minister Narendra  Modi.

There were no abstentions. In all, 451 members took part in the voting.

The 37-strong AIADMK also voted against the motion, accepting the request of BJP national president Amit Shah to support the NDA government.

Modi spoke for nearly 90 minutes, countering the charges of the Opposition, especially Rahul Gandhi on behalf of the Congress.The motion was supported by the TMC and Left parties among others.