MLAs, MP boycott CM function?

By NT Bureau Published on Sep 14, 2018 07:14 PM IST

Chennai: The non-participation of two AIADMK MLAs and a MP in the foundation stone laying ceremony of Ramaswamy Padayachi in Cuddalore has raised speculations about the unity among the cadres in the party.

Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami inaugurated the event through video conferencing from the Secretariat in Chennai today.

Ministers C Ve Shanmugam, M C Sampath, K C Veeramani, P Anbalagan and Doraikkannu were present at the venue.

However, it is reportedly said AIADMK MLAs Sathya Panneerselvam and Murugumaaran boycotted the function. Similarly MP Arunmozhithevan also did not turn up for the event stating that he was not invited formally.

The absence of the leaders is said to be because of the after effects of the change in ranks that were made by the party after a high-level meeting which was convened on Thursday.

Major reshuffling was made in the party and new appointments were made for key party posts after the meeting. As many as 36 new office bearers were appointed.

AIADMK coordinator O Panneerselvam said the high-level meeting will continue on Friday as well. Party's deputy coordinator R Vaithilingam said the meeting discussed the valedictory of the AIADMK founder M G Ramachandran scheduled for 30 September.

The emergency meeting was convened after Union Minister of State for Finance and Shipping Pon Radhakrishnan called on Palaniswami at his residence last evening.

The meeting lasted for about 30 minutes. Radhakrishnan said they discussed the welfare schemes that Palaniswami is planning to announce for Kanyakumari district during the MGR centenary functions.

This meeting is considered to be politically significant as it has come days after the State Government came down heavily on the Centre for the hike in petrol price.